AlterNet published an excerpt of my book, The Missing Class, and here is a link to a radio interview I did last week on "Sound Off With Sasha," a news program on an NPR affiliate in Southwest Florida.

The Nation has an interview with my co-author, Katherine S. Newman, regarding the book. 

An updated list of interviews and book readings follows.

 

RADIO/TV INTERVIEWS

The Progressive Forum on KPFT-FM (Pacifica Houston). Thursday, Sept. 13, 8–8:30 p.m. Eastern, 7–7:30 p.m. Central. This interview will be live.

The Exchange (New Hampshire Public Radio). Tuesday, Sept. 18, 9–10 a.m. This interview will be live.

Marketplace (American Public Media). Tuesday, Sept. 18, 11-11:20 a.m. This interview will be taped with air date to come.

Leonard Lopate Show on WNYC (NPR New York). Tuesday, Sept. 18, 12-12:40 p.m.

Tavis Smiley Show (PRI). I’m not sure about the broadcast date. This interview will be taped on Wednesday, Sept. 19, 11:30–11:45 a.m.

Late Mornings on KVON Radio (Napa, Calif.). Monday, Sept. 24, 11:30 a.m. Eastern, 8:30 a.m. Pacific. This interview will be live.

Joy Cardin Show on Wisconsin Public Radio. Wednesday, Sept. 26, 9-10 a.m. Eastern, 8-9 a.m. Pacific. This interview will be live with call-ins.

Radio Times on WHYY Radio (NPR Philadelphia). Wednesday, Sept. 26, 10–11 a.m. This interview will be live.

Bob Edwards Show on XM Satellite Radio. I’m not sure about the broadcast date. This interview will be taped in studio on Monday, Oct. 1, 9-9:45 a.m.

Diane Rehm Show on WAMU Radio (National NPR). This interview will be live with call-ins and will be syndicated to 100 public radio stations across the country. Monday, Oct. 1, 11 a.m.-12 p.m.

To the Contrary on PBS. Broadcast dates will vary. The interview will be taped on Monday, Oct. 1, 3-3:30 p.m.

Midmorning with Kerri Miller (Minnesota Public Radio). Wednesday, Oct. 3, 11 a.m.–12 p.m. Eastern, 10-11 a.m. Central. This interview will be live with call-ins. 

 

ARCHIVED INTERVIEWS 

Thom Hartmann Show on KPOJ Radio (Portland, Ore.). Wednesday, Aug. 29, 10-10:15 a.m. Eastern, 7-7:15 a.m. Pacific. Here is the archive of the interview.

Sound Off With Sasha on WGCU/WMKO-FM (public radio, Southwest Florida). Friday, Sept. 7, 2-2:30 p.m. Here is an archive of the interview.

 

BOOK READINGS

Washington D.C., Monday, Oct. 1, 12:30-2 p.m.: The New America Foundation/Workforce and Family Program, 1630 Connecticut Ave NW, 7th Floor.

Cambridge, Mass., Friday, Oct. 5, 7 p.m.: Harvard Coop Bookstore, 1400 Massachusetts Ave., reading and signing.

Cambridge, Mass., Wednesday, Dec. 5, 7 p.m.: Cambridge Forum, First Parish (Unitarian Universalist), 3 Church Street.

New York City, Monday, Dec. 10, 6:30 p.m.: New York Public Library, 455 Fifth Avenue, across the street from central research library.

 

PRINT ARTICLES

AlterNet.org: Excerpt (September 6, 2007)

The Nation: Interview (August 13, 2007 issue)

Victor Tan Chen is In The Fray‘s editor in chief and the author of Cut Loose: Jobless and Hopeless in an Unfair Economy. Site: victortanchen.com | Facebook | Twitter: @victortanchen

In The Fray is a nonprofit staffed by volunteers. If you liked this piece, could you please donate $10?